Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

CCSD Announces 2024 School Teacher of the Year Winners

CCSD Announces 2024 School Teacher of the Year Winners

Photo collage includes surprise presentations at, from left to right, Etowah HS, Creekland MS, Johnton ES, Mountain Road ES, Woodstock MS, ACTIVE Academies and R.M. Moore ES STEM Academy.

Congratulations to the Cherokee County School District’s 2024 School Teachers of the Year winners!

Every school year, every CCSD school’s teachers and staff are asked to select a Teacher of the Year for their school.  These school-level winners now are eligible for the honor of Cherokee County School District 2024 Teacher of the Year. 
The districtwide competition is judged by a panel of retired educators and community partners based on applications submitted by the school-level winners.  Four CCSD Finalists will be announced later this month by the Superintendent of Schools.  They, along with all school winners, will be honored at the Legacy Makers: CCSD Teachers of the Year Celebration this spring at which the CCSD 2024 Teacher of the Year will be announced.  The overall CCSD winner will be entered into the Georgia Teacher of the Year competition.

“These honorees are the best of our best and represent who our outstanding educators believe best represents their profession and their school,” Superintendent of Schools Dr. Brian V. Hightower said.  “I am thankful for their dedication to ensuring our students receive the best education possible and are shown each day that their teacher cares about them and their overall success.”
The annual Legacy Makers celebration, and gifts presented to the honorees, are sponsored by Presenting Sponsors: Cherokee County Educational Foundation, Credit Union of Georgia, Northside Hospital Cherokee and Shottenkirk Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep and Ram of Canton.  Additional financial and in-kind sponsorship opportunities are available; interested businesses and organizations are encouraged to please contact Penny Dempsey at or 770.479.1871.

Congratulations to CCSD’s 2024 School Teachers of the Year:

ACTIVE Academies: Jeanne Rottner
Arnold Mill Elementary School: Allison Buzeta
Avery Elementary School: Miranda Satterfield
Ball Ground ES STEM Academy: Crystal Bennett
Bascomb Elementary School: Alle Campbell
Boston Elementary School: Melissa Phillips
Carmel Elementary School: Samantha Harrington Karel
CCSD Preschool Centers: Stephanie Timbol
Cherokee High School: Hillary Baxter
Clark Creek ES STEM Academy: Ashley Murphy
Clayton Elementary School: Kari Brooks
Creekland Middle School: Kristie Stannard
Creekview High School: Andrea Sheldon
Dean Rusk Middle School: Amanda Coleman
E.T. Booth Middle School: Jamie Stahler
Etowah High School: Shannah Dean
Free Home Elementary School: Annsley Cochran
Freedom Middle School: Anna Zincone
Hasty ES Fine Arts Academy: Carson O'Bryant
Hickory Flat Elementary School: Katie Bertram
Holly Springs ES STEM Academy: Amanda Anderson
Indian Knoll Elementary School: Kristin Towns
Johnston Elementary School: Joshua Philpot
Knox ES STEM Academy: Kara Gleason-Haynes
Liberty Elementary School: Stephanie Hopersberger
Little River Elementary School: Stephanie Keenum
Macedonia Elementary School: Kinsley Welch
Mill Creek Middle School: Laurie Taylor
Mountain Road Elementary School: Kristen Mitchell
Oak Grove ES STEAM Academy: Jessica Cole
R.M. Moore ES STEM Academy: Lindsay Hudgins
River Ridge High School: Mary Bisgrove
Sequoyah High School: Cora Hodgins
Sixes Elementary School: Carollyn Brown
Teasley Middle School: Cheryl Stephenson
Tippens Education Center: Curtis Durham
Woodstock Elementary School: Leeann Logue
Woodstock High School: Courteney Hooks
Woodstock Middle School: Jules Dingman